as provinces, continued the previously existing manhood suffrage and both extended the franchise to women on the same terms as to men in 1916 (Alta, 1916, c. 5; Sask. 1916, c. 37). British Columbia adopted manhood suffrage in 1904 (1903-1904, c. 7), Ontario in 1907 (7 Edw. VII, c. 5), and New Brunswick in 1916 (6 Geo. V, c. 16); in British Columbia (1917, c. 23) and in Ontario (7 Geo. V, c. 5), the franchise was extended equally to women in 1917, and in New Brunswick this was done in 1919 (9 Geo. V, c. 63). In Quebec and Prince Edward Island the provincial franchises throughout the period in question were not so wide; in neither were women admitted to vote and certain property or other special qualifications were required in each. A property qualification was also required in Nova Scotia until 1920 (10-11 Geo. V. c. 49), but between 1918 and 1920 men and women had voted on equal terms (9 Geo. V, c. 3). The adoption of the provincial franchise laws for Dominion purposes was temporarily modified by the War Times Elections Act (1917, c. 39), which admitted certain near female relatives of serving soldiers and sailors to vote at Dominion elections, and three years later, on the adoption of a New Dominion Elections Act (1920, c. 46), the provincial franchises were again wholly abandoned and a new electoral qualification was established for Dominion elections throughout Canada. Subject to a modification of the usual rules as to changes of nationality, which were amended in 1921 (1921, c. 29, s. 3) and repealed in 1922 (1922, c. 20, s. 1), the right to vote was conferred by the new Act upon all British subjects, male and female, of 21 years and upwards, who had resided in Canada for a year, and for two months in the electoral district in which they desired to vote, this last restriction having been removed two years later (1922, c. 20), so far as it applied to general elections.

Recent Franchise Legislation.—The right to vote is at present provided for in the Dominion Franchise Act, (24-25 Geo. V, c. 51). The franchise is conferred upon all British subjects who are of the full age of twenty-one years and who have been ordinarily resident in Canada for at least one year and for three months resident in the electoral district in which application is made for registration.

Those denied the right to vote are: prisoners undergoing punishment for any offence; persons restrained of their liberty or management of their property by reason of mental disease; Indians ordinarily resident on an Indian reservation who did not serve in the War, 1914-1918; Judges appointed by Order in Council; persons who are disqualified under the law of Canada relating to the disqualification of electors for corrupt and illegal practices; inmates of an institution which is maintained by any government or municipality for the housing of the poor; Eskimos, whether born in Canada or elsewhere; persons who are disqualified by reason of race from voting at an election of a member of the Legislative Assembly of a province in which they are residing, and who did not serve in the War, 1914-1918; in the province of British Columbia, every Doukhobor or any descendant of such, whether born in that province or elsewhere who is by the law of that province disqualified to vote at an election of a member of the Legislative Assembly of that province.

Revisions of Franchise Legislation.—Under the provisions of the Dominion Franchise Act, 1934, the List of Electors was to be revised annually commencing in May, 1935. On April 8, 1936, an amendment (1 Edw. VIII, c. 4) was passed and